Pokhara is the capital of Western Development region. The Pokhara is the tourism and financial capital of Nepal situated at the Kaski district of Gandaki Zone. It has 9 lakes including the famous Fewa Lake and Begnas Lake. Pokhara is famous for the scenic view of Mt. Machhapuhhre (Fish Tail), Bindawashani Temple, the Seti river, Mahendra Cave, Devid Fall (Patalo Chhago). The name of Pokhara is derived from the world Pokhari meaning the Pond. The Sanskrit name of Pokhara is Dhavalasrotapura (Sanskrit:धवलस्रोतपुर) meaning the city entrance to the white-capped mountains. Disintegrating the Sanskrit word: “Dhavala” means “snow capped snowy mountains”, “Srota” means ” entrance into the or source” and “Pura” means “City”.

Mount Machhapuchhre and the Pokhara City/ About Nepal
Mount Machhapuchhre and the Pokhara City/ About Nepal

Due to heavy rainfall, Pokhara is sometimes termed as Nepal’s Cherapunji. Siddhartha Highway connects Pokhara to Tansen (Palpa)  &  Butwal area and Prithvi Highway connects to Kathmandu via Mugling. Pokhara has road connections to other cities of Western and Eastern Terai by the Narayangadh via Mugling.

Watch in Video: Nepal Travel Guide – Top 5 Things to do in Pokhara

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *